top of page

National Herstory

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922, in Indianapolis, Indiana, by seven young educators: Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little, Dorothy Hanley Whiteside, Vivian Irene White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Annette Dulin Redford, Bessie Mae Downey Rhoades Martin, and Cubena McClure. The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to the Alpha chapter at Butler University. Since its inception, the dynamic women of Sigma Gamma Rho have built and sustained a well-known and well-respected reputation for leading positive change to help uplift the community through sisterhood, leadership, and service.

Sigma Gamma Rho has welcomed more than 100,000 collegiate and professional women from every profession. The sorority has more than 500 chapters in the United States, Bahamas, Bermuda, Canada, Germany, South Korea, U.S. Virgin Islands, and the United Arab Emirates. The organization also has active affiliate groups devoted to empowering women at different stages in life. The Rhoer Club Affiliates (teenage girls) and Philos Affiliates (friends of the sorority) also assist alumnae chapters with various service efforts and programs.



Sorority Quick Facts

Established: November 12, 1922, at Butler University, Indianapolis, Indiana
Membership: 100,000+ members
Conference: National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC - Divine 9)
Division: Five Regions – Central, Northeastern, Southeastern, Southwestern, Western
Service Channel: Over 500 chapters in the U.S., Bahamas, Bermuda, the Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, South Korea and the United Arab Emirates.
Sorority Flower: The Yellow Tea Rose
Sorority Mascot: The Poodle
Sorority Colors: Royal Blue and Gold
Sorority Slogan: Greater Service, Greater Progress
Sorority Abbreviated Title: SGRho or Sigma
Sorority Call: EE-yip!
Sorority Magazine: The AURORA

Sigma Gamma Rho, Sorority, Inc. Alpha Chapter,
Butler University, 1924

bottom of page